Holidays

Court Holidays

New Year's Day January 1st
Martin Luther King Jr. Day Third Monday in January
President's Day Third Monday in February
Memorial Day Last Monday in May
Independence Day July 4th
Labor Day First Monday in September
Columbus Day Second Monday in October
Veterans Day November 11th
Thanksgiving Day Fourth Thursday in November
Christmas Day December 25th

2020 Holidays

New Year's Day Wednesday, January 1
Birthday of Martin Luther King Jr. Monday, January 20
Washington's Birthday Monday, February 17*
Memorial Day Monday, May 25
Independence Day Friday, July 3**
Labor Day Monday, September 7
Columbus Day Monday, October 12
Veterans Day Monday, November 11
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 26
Christmas Day Friday, December 25


* This holiday is designated as "Washington’s Birthday" in section 6103(a) of title 5 of the United States Code, which is the law that specifies holidays for Federal employees. Though other institutions such as state and local governments and private businesses may use other names, it is our policy to always refer to holidays by the names designated in the law.

** July 4, 2020 (the legal public holiday for Independence Day), falls on a Saturday. For most Federal employees, Friday, July 3, will be treated as a holiday for pay and leave purposes. (See 5 U.S.C. 6103(b).)