About the Court

The District Court of Guam (in case citations, D. Guam) is a United States territorial court with jurisdiction over the United States territory of Guam. It sits in the capital, Hagåtña.

The District Court of Guam was established in 1950 by The Organic Act of Guam 48 U.S.C. § 1424, to have the same jurisdiction as a United States district court.  Its judges, however, do not have life tenure and it is therefore not a true Article III court. Because the District Court of Guam is a part of the Ninth Circuit, appeals of the court's decisions are taken to the United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit.